Scallop and Rhubarb Salad with Cauliflower Crunch

Kitchens forgive me, I’ve been away and I don’t have any excuse but letting life get in the way. I hope you find this post worth the wait.

In the summer time I love to eat seafood, it’s light and refreshing and unlike chicken or pork, it won’t kill you if you eat it raw :). Salad is super easy to make, i’m almost ashamed to call this a recipe… almost. This salad can be broken down into 5 parts:

  1. The greens
  2. The rhubarb
  3. The cauliflower
  4. The scallops
  5. Last but not least the dressing

The Greens

I’m not a massive fan of spinach in salads, it can be incredibly bland. Instead I used a mix of watercress (for pepperiness), baby kale (all of the flavour without the toughness) and coriander (I love fresh herbs in my salad).  Do use whatever greens you have to hand but nothing too watery like an iceberg lettuce.

For some crunch I also added in some radishes including their leaves (waste not want not).

2015-07-05 17.43.18

Double veg!

The Rhubarb

Rhubarb is incredibly citrus and so works well in savoury dishes also. Seafood with citrus is a classic, so is salad with citrus. So really we aren’t rocking the boat too much here 🙂

To prepare the rhubarb, chop 2 stalks and  sprinkle with 1tsp of sugar.

Roast at 180C for 20mins or until tender.

Tender Pink Rhubarb

Tender Pink Rhubarb

The Cauliflower

Cauliflower and I have not always been best friends. I always thought of it as broccoli’s ugly step sister until I tried barbecued cauliflower and I’ve been a fan ever since. The cauliflower in this salad replicates that smokey flavour but in a more achievable way. It acts as a condiment/topping much like bread crumbs would.

To prepare the cauliflower, chop off 2 or 3 florets trying to avoid as much stalk as possible.

Blitz in a food processor until you have achieve the texture of cauliflower rice

Toast in a dry pan (i.e. do not add oil) on a high heat until it takes on a dark brown almost black colour.

The Scallops

I got some scallops from the fish monger with the roe still attached. The roe cooks quicker than the scallops so I removed it from the scallops and cooked separately. The roe is a lot fishier but quite creamy, so if you don’t like that leave it out.

To prepare the scallops, season with salt and pepper. Heat some olive oil in a pan, sear for 1 minute on one side, flip over and cook for another 30 seconds, and that’s it!

Juicy and Cooked

The dressing

See all of that scallop juice above, and the caramelisation in the pan. We don’t let it go to waste.

Deglaze the pan with a splash of white wine. Mix with the juices that have been released by the scallops, some olive oil, a squeeze of lemon juice and salt and pepper to taste.

The assembly

Mix the greens, rhubarb and dressing together. Top with the scallops and sprinkle over the cauliflower crunch.

Serve your show stopping salad with a few slices of homemade baguette and a crisp glass of white wine.

2015-07-05 17.39.00

Until next time (which will be soon 🙂 ) kitchens……

4 thoughts on “Scallop and Rhubarb Salad with Cauliflower Crunch

  1. I cant even begin to conceive what this tastes like lol. Salad beyond sweet and crunchy(tesco’s – cabbage/carrot/lettuce) is foreign to me. I’m willing to try roasted rhubarb tho. Will tell you how that tasted.

    You make cooking look so easy. Well done!

    Like

  2. There’s a lot going on here and I’d say that this definitely counts as a recipe. (It also looks delicious!)
    Some thing I’d find helpful, is prep time. It’s great if you’ve got all this stuff lying about ready to cobble together but I’d like to know if this is going to be a quick dinner or if it’s going to take a bit longer.

    Like

Leave a Reply

