Sea bass with Kiwi – An alternative take on citrus

wpid-2015-03-22-19.28.59.jpg.jpeg

I’ll let you all in on a secret of mine, one of my guilty pleasures is shopping at the supermarket in the dead of the night. It’s not unusual for me to pop out at 9pm or later to do my food shop for the week. Wandering around the empty aisles is pure bliss, no buggies to skillfully manoeuvre around, no trolleys parked in front of the tomatoes while the driver takes 10 minutes to pick one….. Anyways I digress, on one such excursion I was on the hunt for limes and unfortunately there was none to be found. And then it hit me unripe rock hard kiwis have quite the citrus twist and luckily there were loads of those. Yes it did occur to me to get some lemons but it doesn’t have the fruity complexity I was looking for.

And so this dish was born.

Kiwi marinated Sea bass with Black Rice and Coconut Sesame Cabbage Slaw

An unripe kiwi is something usually ignored, its only interesting once it’s ripe or so I thought. I think we’re missing a trick here, this is an alternative form of citrus, not as strong as a lemon or lime but far more punchy than an orange and you get a fruity kick as well.

The flavour profile of this recipe is sweet, hot and sour with an aniseed lift at the end. The heat from the chillies help to balance out the fruitiness of the kiwis. The citrus cuts through it all and adds a nice freshness and the aniseed gives another layer of flavour giving the marinade some depth.

For the Marinade

  • 2 unripe kiwis (they tend to be very hard)
  • 2 red chillies (use whatever variety you like, I opted for finger chillies)
  • Small knob of ginger
  • 2 garlic cloves
  • 1 stalk fresh tarragon
  • 1/2 a celery stick
  • 1 tablespoon rapeseed or olive oil
  • Salt and pepper to taste

wpid-2015-03-22-19.33.57.jpg.jpeg

Spoon out the kiwi flesh and blitz with the other ingredients in a food processor and that’s it!. The marinade is fragrant, punchy and it’s pretty to look at too.

Spread on the outside and inside of the fish and marinade for up to an hour but at least 15mins.

I used Sea bass but feel free to use any white fish you like. For the tastiest results use a whole fish rather than fillets. My marinade was enough for 2 medium sized Sea bass.

wpid-2015-03-22-19.34.57.jpg.jpeg

Look at the bright eyes on that fresh fish!

To cook the fish, roast in a preheated oven at 180C for 15 to 20mins serve immediately.

I served my fish with some wild rice and a coconut sesame cabbage slaw.

For the Slaw

  • 1/4 head of white cabbage
  • 2 carrots
  • 1 tablespoon desiccated coconut
  • 1 tablespoon sesame seeds
  • 1 stalk fresh tarragon
  • 2 tablespoons creme fraiche

Staying on the tropical theme I thought some crunch from coconuts would be a nice addition, the tarragon references and complements the tarragon in the fish and I always like some nuttiness in my salads hence the sesame seeds. The creme fraiche helps to cool the palate and balance out the heat from the fish marinade.

wpid-2015-03-22-19.32.04.jpg.jpeg

Before the creme fraiche

Simply grate the cabbage and the carrots, tear up the tarragon and mix well. Toast the dessicated coconut and sesame seeds in a dry pan (this should take about 2 – 3 mins) and add to the slaw. Dollop over the creme fraiche and mix well. I don’t think this slaw needs any seasoning as there is a lot of flavour and a lovely freshness to it, but feel free to add some salt and pepper if you like.

You can serve the fish with just the slaw, otherwise cook the wild rice according to the pack instructions and serve.

And here is the complete dish.

wpid-2015-03-22-19.27.27.jpg.jpeg

Moist flaky white flesh

I really hope you all enjoy cooking this as it is super quick, easy, delicious, healthy…. I’ll stop with the adjectives now, please give it a go!

Until next time kitchens….

2 thoughts on “Sea bass with Kiwi – An alternative take on citrus

Leave a Reply

